top of page

Strong Modern Colorful Pop Graphic Design with a Scientific Comedic and Cosmic Perspective

I'm a visual person, which means I constantly scan the world around me and most commonly put things in the category of "I like that", or, "I don't like that". I collect ideas and aesthetics from the things I like to look at, and I think we all do that subconsciously in many areas of life.

For graphic designers and artists it means keeping a mental catalogue that will inform later work. It's important to create work that you like, and it's more than ok to build on aesthetics that draw you in. For me I'd say I enjoy strong, modern, colorful, pop graphic design, especially those with scientific, comedic or cosmic perspectives.

In writing it's ok to write the story you want to read, and in graphic design you should create the art you want to see. This principle is a good one in all aspects of life. You have the power to write your own story. If I could re-write mine, I would have started my time at DePaul with the intent to major in graphic design. I think it would have been nice to find my passion earlier. I was stuck around so many people who knew exactly what they wanted to do. I was just happy to be in Chicago and didn't have much else figured out.

As I continue forward, writing my story, I plan to seek out every opportunity in graphic design. I also plan to spend more time in my studio. I feel more creative in that space and happier overall.

I love so many different artists, but if all of my favorite makers got together under my direction they would make something AWESOME. I'd probably hope that JR could team up with Jay Ryan and Mark Addison to make some GIANT animals to hang in cities, reflecting the overheard phrases that Mark writes down/illustrates daily.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page